Yolk Records

Yolk Records Menu Recherche

Vents Divers LPT3

reference number : J2070
release date : 26/05/2017
Photos : Cover © Christophe Lavergne, CD © ANNABELLE TIAFFAY

A propos du disque

This group, composed of François Thuillier (tuba), Jean-Louis Pommier (trombone) and Christophe Lavergne (drums), could be the embryo of a fanfare. It is not. Resolutely acoustic, beyond the borders of jazz, it opens up to the music of today. Adventure, risk-taking, complicity, these are the key words that could define the functioning of a formation both unusual and captivating.

For the occasion, they invite clarinetist and saxophonist Louis Sclavis, an adventurer of jazz improvisation, jazz with quotation marks as his sources of inspiration are so varied. This versatile musician is capable of practicing jazz in the freest possible contexts. Michel Marre, a second guest is a tireless troubadour with melodies steeped in jazz and his history through his long collaborations with Mal Waldron and Archie Shep. Melodies crossed with the gypsies of southern India during his residency at the Villa Medici, with the gypsies of Romania, with the Catalan orchestra of Barcelona in the Sardana Jazz. Just like Louis, Michel was the guest of LPT3 at the Jazz à Marciac Festival.

‘’Defy gravity, string theory, relativity, and pitch by joining in an adventure with this trio.
With two astronauts like Louis and Michel, who are also engineers of poetry, you may even help us steer this improbable vessel and succeed in bending space.
The space of a time, the space of a disk. It goes without saying.’’ LPT3

Christophe Lavergne : drums
Jean Louis Pommier : trombone
François Thuillier : tuba
Michel Marre : trumpet (4, 6, 7, 9)
Louis Sclavis : clarinets (2, 4, 6, 9, 10)


revue, column, blog

radio, audio


1/ Diligence --- Jean Louis Pommier 3'34
2/ De Charybde en Scylla --- Louis Sclavis 6'39
3/ Urgence Pistons ! --- François Thuillier 6'51
4/ Dolac --- Michel Marre 4'33
5/ Fondeur d’hélices --- Jean Louis Pommier 8'31
6/ La caresse du vent --- Jean Louis Pommier 7'51
7/ La Bourrée du sauvage --- Michel Marre 2'59
8/ Petite cave --- François Thuillier 5'05
9/ Song for A --- Louis Sclavis 4'46
10/ Le Lucullus --- François Thuillier 7'02
Total Time: 57'51
Photos : Cover © Christophe Lavergne, CD © ANNABELLE TIAFFAY